In Surgery Recovery

Hello and welcome to 2010! Yes, I know I’m about a couple of weeks late welcoming in the new year here at The Den, but it’s still the first month of the year. πŸ˜‰ I’m still good for a few more days.

It has been a wild ride for the past few months. I injured my shoulder last summer while we were camping, and had to have surgery in December. We thought I had a torn rotator cuff and bicep tendon. I did about 6 weeks of physical therapy before surgery in hopes of strengthening the muscles and tendons so that post-operation recovery wouldn’t be so painful.Β  After the surgery (thankfully done arthroscopically), we discovered that I had a huge bone spur and much bursa inflammation. The doctor shaved 5mm off the bone spur, decompressed the bursa, and found that my rotator cuff is starting to fray (oh yippee. /sarcasm.)

Now, I’m in post-surgery physical therapy, and it hurts more now than it did pre-surgery. I haven’t been sleeping well at night because of the pain, either. It might take me at least 3 months until I can sleep through the night without pain. Great. sigh

So… I’ve looked back and discovered that I haven’t written for 5 months. Yikes- that’s a long time. Much has happened: the boys are in another grade, they’re another year older, and have grown MUCH taller.

I hope to get back to writing at a regular pace again here. Did you miss me? πŸ™‚

Okay, so I’m feeling a little silly. Here’s a quick poll:

Yes, I’m being a little self-centered, but I do care about my readers. I hope I still have readers. I’d like to know if y’all are still there.

4 responses

  1. Great to have you back. Sorry about the pain that you are going through. I guess there is some truth to the old adage “it gets worse before it gets better.” Brighter days ahead I am sure!

    • Hi Tonya! You have an AWESOME blog! I’m so happy you stopped by to visit mine.

      So far the recovery progress is going much better than I thought it would. I still can’t reach behind my back, so no softball games yet. πŸ˜‰ Hopefully by this summer I’ll be ready to play. I’m happy to report that the swelling has gone down and I’m not in pain at rest anymore. Yippee for progress! Thanks for asking, and I’m so glad to meet you.

Leave a Reply

