Are you aware of 1 in 150?

On the eve of April, I’m excited about “our people’s” month. I’m hoping to keep this blog hopping with National Blog Posting Month AND Autism Awareness Month.

As of recent, 1 in 150 children are diagnosed with autism. My son is one of those 150. I’m very proud of him.

He has overcome many obstacles since he has been diagnosed with the big “A”. He’s learned how to make friends, and he’s trying to develop a wicked sense of humor because he wants to be in the school talent show. he still has a long way to go, but from where he was when he was 18 months old and reading the logos from the Wired magazine, to now where he’s getting subtle humor from the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books, we’re incredibly blessed to have him as one of our sons.

However, I will not let his autism totally define who he is, nor define who we are as a family. The autism is just a PART of who he is, and he needs to know what his strengths are in order to overcome his weaknesses.

I am also seeing this in myself, where I have reached the point where I do not want to be defined by my depression. I need to learn what my strengths are in order to overcome my weaknesses.

So, buckle up for a wonderful month of Autism Awareness. I have a very dear friend who is launching her website tomorrow= http://modelmekids.com/autismsitewarming.html  Please participate if you can. You’ll learn much, and make some awesome friends at the same time.

7 responses

  1. Great post! My twins are starting to read their first “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” book too. We’ll see how it goes 🙂

    Looking forward to the sitewarming tomorrow too. I have a linky post up if you want to leave a link to your autism awareness-related posts.

  2. My son, whois 9 has Aspergers, ADHD and OCS (ONLY CHILD SYNDROM). I decided a year ago to start findiNG ALL THE THINGS RIGHT with him. I pulled him from public school, home schoole dhim last year and this year to really get to knwo him now and I am glad I did. I will plac ehim in a private school designed for asperger kids and I think he will excell (his IQ is 135) the psychologist said his IQ was higher then his own , lol, the doc sort of obsessed over that a bit, mayhaps he too had aspergers, lol. So just keep the faith and start focusing on his positives, I bet there are more of thsoe then you realize!

  3. I think the numbers would be more like 1 in 100 based on the national average if they polled it again. Keeps rising…hmmm…

Leave a Reply

