I’ve been ‘badged’

beartwinsmom125x1252

As some of you know, I’ve been getting quite active on Twitter, and I’ve been meeting and making many new friends and acquaintances. I’ve been having fun and learning much from the diverse mix of people that get sucked into the Twitter Vortex along with me.

One day, I read a tweet (that’s what we call Twitter messages.. go ahead and laugh) about a give away on a blog called SoapboxMama (I LOVE that name, especially their tagline “for moms who like to think outside the box”). I re-tweeted the message (repeated the message on Twitter), and the SoapboxMama sent me a direct message. She wanted to know if I had a blog badge so we could do a link exchange. WOW, was I honored!! I was incredibly impressed by her blog.

But, I didn’t have a blog badge. I am still a blogger newbie considering that I use the free WordPress, and don’t know much about http code, CSS, PHP… all that stuff is similar to when someone comes to an Individual Education Plan and we start throwing around all our acronyms- LD, ASD, ADHD, EI… it’s all alphabet soup!

Enter in another Twitter friend- Christinakb (you can visit her wonderful blog here: CosmoxWorld) She and I met each other through a huge gathering that is happening on twitter called Top Conservatives on Twitter (#TCOT if you are a Twitter-ite). There are a bunch of us who are trying to prepare ourselves for the long 4 years ahead of us with a Democrat in the White House, and we want to reclaim our conservative values in our country. I had met a few fellow conservative minded people when I was live-microblogging the debates on Twitter back in the fall.

So, how does Christina fit into all of this? I had posted a tweet about needed a blog badge, and that I am a poor graduate student (meaning I probably won’t be able to pay you for your work LOL). Christina emailed me to volunteer her TIME (I can’t even imagine how much time it took to design the badge) and her TALENT (you can tell that she captured my essence of BearTwinsMom- a momma bear with her twin cubs- with a rustic background). I am so indebted to her. You can see my badge up at the top of this post, and you’ll see it around Cyberspace, and you’ll definitely see it at SoapboxMama’s blog.

Thank you so much, Christina, for your hard work and time. I am so in awe of your skills and generosity.

If anyone is interested in hosting my blog badge on their blog or site, you can find the code at my “About Me” page.

3 responses

  1. Hello there!
    This comment is not fully related to this post, but I’m not sure how to contact you directly so here goes. I wanted to let you know that I have received information that you won my book A Is for Autism, F Is for Friend during the Autism Twitter Day. I will be sending it off to you early this week. If you get a chance to send me a message back, I can confirm your snail mail address and send you a more personal message.

    Regards,
    Joanna Keating-Velasco
    AisForAutism@roadrunner.com

Leave a Reply

