Why I’m proud to be an American

american-flag

On the eve of this historic election in America, I’d like to take a moment to remind everyone why we should be proud to be Americans. Even though we have so many messes right now with the economy, an unpopular war, and homeland security, I still believe that we live in one of the most awesome countries in the world.

I am proud to be an American because we have freedoms that not every country has.

I am proud to be an American because we have brave soldiers that protect us every day and night to preserve our freedoms.

I am proud to be an American because we are guaranteed the right to vote and make our voices heard.

I am proud to be an American because you can still strive for the American dream- and achieve it on your own terms- without anyone telling you you can’t.

I am proud to be an American because this country is full of beautiful sights and sounds of peace and generosity when you least expect it.

Most of all, I am proud to be an American because our Founding Fathers designed a government to have certain inalienable rights in our Constitution:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men.”

God, country, family- the core of why I love America.

Remember- Polls don’t elect; people do. Get out and vote tomorrow, November 4th. If you need help finding your polling center, go to http://maps.google.com/vote

5 responses

  1. @ FXSmom- I try to remember all the people who can’t vote. I remember when the Iraqis had their first vote and were proudly showing their purple fingers. Their proud smiles should be reflected here in our country. I’m afraid many Americans have taken freedom for granted.

  2. The recent election instilled in me a sense of American Pride that I haven’t personally felt in years. It wasn’t so much who won and who loss, but the fact that people, Americans, cared enough to do something about the state of our Union.

Leave a Reply

