Finding both sides to the story

I tried to not blog about politics. I wanted to keep out of the political spin cycle. But with all of the adrenaline that is going through the country right now with the upcoming election, I just couldn’t keep quiet.

Right now, the thing that is really pissing me off is the huge government proposed corporate bailout. If you or I screw up in our economic affairs, do we get a bailout or severance package? Oh no…. But look at what is happening today: Washington Mutuals’ new CEO might get $13 million, and he wasn’t even on the job for that long! Boy, does that make me see red upon red!

So, do you want to find out unbiased information to help you decide for whom to vote? I found this website: FactCheck. It is a non-partisan (gotta love that) organization that compiles information about current government events. Did you know that Obama was only present for about 3% of his total voting career? Yeah, I really want someone who’s only present 3% of the time. Sigh. Anyway, go check that website out. It shows both sides of the story.

ETA: I have a new link category in the right hand column: “An Educated Voter is a Powerful Voter”. Check back for updated links for information to be a powerful voter. We HAVE the voice when we vote. Don’t complain to me when things don’t happen how you want if you don’t get off your butt in November and vote.

10 responses

  1. Sorry, but you’re out by $7million. For 17 days on the job (and having his company fail under him) he will be walking away with a severance package of nearly $20Million. ‘Nuf said.

  2. @ Arkay- Sheesh…. That just makes me even more pissed off.

    @ javaqueen- FactCheck is a really good website. I’ve been very impressed with it so far. I’ve been finding other links, too, to add to my “Voter” links.

    @pacer521- WOW is all I can say about your blog. I am so impressed with your writing. If I had a student like you when I was teaching 8th grade English, I would have been an incredibly happy teacher.

    @BookMama- I’m going to be adding more links to my “An Educated Voter” links section. People need to know the facts before they vote. And everyone needs to be REGISTERED to vote. October 6th is the deadline, everyone (USA citizens).

    @ my friends in other countries- I’d love to know what spin your newswires are putting on our current state of affairs here.

  3. well
    its pretty exciting for us down here in australia
    last night on comedy talk show Rove they had the clips of Sarah Palin saying she had foreign policy experience because Alaska is so close to Russia

    anyhoo
    i really like obama
    i liked it when he danced on the ellen show
    i like his smile
    and his big ears
    and his family is gorgeous

    its probably good that i’m not allowed to vote for these reasons, but golly gosh american politics = so very interesting with its pitbulls, pigs and barracudas…

  4. @ aurora- Yeah, it is funny with the pitbulls, pigs, and barracudas. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess we could just vote for which animal we like best. LOL

    Seriously, though, one college student told me that during the last election, there were THOUSANDS of write-ins for Mickey Mouse for president. Let’s see… which cartoon character would lead this country best? I think I’ll have to set up a poll for that. LOL Hey, that would be a great post for NaBloPoMo next month.

  5. thanks for the link. I work for an investment firm and even we didn’t think these companies needed bailed out. Let them flop…teach them a darn lesson. I know they are trying to prevent a depression but I don’t think this is the way to be doing it!!

Leave a Reply

