First day of school fun!

It’s tradition here at The Den that every first day of school starts with a picture out in our front yard. I’m now the mom to two second graders. Where did the time go? Sigh.
Ah... brotherly love!

Ah... brotherly love!

The boys decided to clown around a bit… Kerry is on the left in blue; Casey is on the right in red.

Kerry's first day as a second grader- September 2, 2008

Kerry is so excited to be a 2nd grader!

My one bear cub….

Casey proudly holds his First Day banner.

Casey proudly holds his First Day banner.

And my other cub….

They grow up way too fast.

We always celebrate our first day with a trip to Dairy Queen. Casey had a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Blizzard, Kerry had an Extreme Chocolate Blizzard, and I had a Pumpkin Pie Blizzard. With the temps in the low 90’s on this first day of school, it was a super-nice treat to have ice cream!

I’m excited, but I’m also a little melancholic that my boys are in 2nd grade. When they lined up to go up to their classes, I asked if they wanted me to walk with them, and they both said no. Oh… the pains of letting go, but it is part of growing up. Even mommas still grow up.

I’m looking forward to this school year. This is the second year that the boys are in different classes. It will be a lot of work, but also a lot of fun.

8 responses

  1. Ya, kinda threw me a bit when I saw two different teacher’s names in the pictures (which are great btw, thx for sharing!)
    That will give them (and you) something to share with each other after each school day, no?

    I’ll try and find you a ‘mastercard ad’ that my brother sent me a while back, one of those ‘priceless’ ones, seeing your two boys makes me think of it.

    Keep smiling! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m a little down about the first day of school (ours is late this year). I now have a 3rd grader, 1st grader, and Kindergarten-er. And I think putting them on the school bus (especially for the first day) is anti-climatic. I know they look forward to it, but walking to the front door… walking to the classroom if I’m lucky… Those are things that help mom’s with the transition. And because my 1st grader is Autistic, he goes to a different elementary school than the other two. More to be anxious about.

  3. @ JavaQueen- Thanks! I think they’re cute, too. πŸ™‚

    @ Emily- So far they are LOVING second grade. I’m hoping that the rest of the year goes just as well as this first week.

    @ Arkay- I have the boys in separate classes because of the competition thing. They are so ultra-competitive. I guess it’s a twin thing with them. Sigh. I got your email- that pic is HILARIOUS!!! I’m so glad you sent that to me because it made me just laugh so loudly!

    @ iamweiser- Oh dear… that is definitely anxiety-building when one child is in a different building than the others. Plus, if I remember correctly, you’re a single mom… that even adds more to your plate. My one twin has autism so I know how anxious I am during that first week, hoping that everything goes well with the new teacher, the new classmates, etc. I hope you’ll keep me posted on how your kids’ first day goes. I’ll keep you and your family in my prayers. πŸ™‚

  4. That’s awesome, keep the tradition alive.

    My mom has a series of photos she’s been meaning to frame that start with my first day of Kindergarten and end with my senior portrait. Every first day of school captured on old-school 35mm film.

Leave a Reply

