Countdown to summer vacation…

and to when the Beartwinsmom will lose her sanity until after Labor day: two more days. The boys have two more days of school, then it’s summer vacation. I’ve been trying to find things online so I can make a plan and a schedule for us so that I don’t hear the “Momma, I’m boooooooooooooooooooored” whines.

I need to e-mail the second grade teachers and get the list of what subjects they’re going to cover in the Core Knowledge sequence. My sons attend a charter school that uses the Core Knowledge curriculum sequence, and I just love it.

I’ve also found a way to keep tabs on their reading comprehension this summer. At their school, they use the Accelerated Reader program for taking quizzes.ย  There are some things I like and don’t like about using AR as the sole manner of checking for comprehension. Mainly, AR quizzes focus on literal questions.ย  Since I will not shell out the insane amount of money to buy the AR program and the quizzes, I found a FREE website that has quizzes for books, and a prize bank as well. You can also set up your own Personal Incentive Plan for your kids to earn prizes.ย  It’s Book Adventure, and it’s hosted by Sylvan Learning Centers. You do NOT have to pay to register. The easiest thing to do is to sign yourself up first for a parent account, then sign your kid/kids up, and attach their accounts to yours with your email address.

So, what I will be doing is flipping between the AR book lists to check on the reading level and points value, then having the boys take the quizzes on Book Adventure.

Another thing the boys will be working on is their reading aloud proficiency. Kerry has a tendency to mumble, and Casey will sometimes skip words.

I’ve also been looking up sites for 1st grade math so I can keep the boys’ skills intact so they don’t have that “summer slide”. I also have a 2nd grade curriculum workbook so they can work in that.

I know… I also have to let the boys be boys. I will have fun stuff planned as well, like trips to the bowling alley, going swimming, going to the library (hey, that is fun in our family), and other things.

Just pray for sanity for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Please.

7 responses

  1. BB is also in a charter school that uses the Core Knowledge curriculum. We’re satisfied with it. I was kind of worried when I first read about it – what if he’s really great in specific areas? Do they teach all the kids ONLY at the same pace? Will he be challenged?

    I don’t mean this in a “my kid’s a genius” way. I mean this in a “my kid’s lazy just like I am and if school is easy for him, he’ll just coast along.”

    Not to worry. His teacher gives him (and others in his class) extra work, including 4th grade math for the past couple of months! He gripes about the extra homework sometimes (it’s not an excessive amount) but he knows that he’s getting harder work and seems to enjoy the challenge.

  2. What reading level are they on?

    Asking so I’ll know what books to suggest. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Personally I’m a longtime fan of the Berenstein Bears . . . but I think those are ageless . . . and timeless.

    BTW, I care.

  3. @ Book Mama- That’s the thing I like about my boys’ school, too. They push the kids to their best level.

    @ Lastcrazyhorn- I know you care. ๐Ÿ™‚ Casey is at a 4th grade reading level; Kerry is at a 2-3 grade reading level. Thanks for asking!! I look forward to reading your suggestions. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. my youngest girl has girled me with the “I’m booooored” thing. Ugh…summer sucks for her. I almost kissed my exhusband (ok..not really…ewww) when he called last week to take her camping for four days. She got back home just in time to start the summer program today. So hopefully for a few more days I won’t have to hear that evil sentence!!

  5. I’ve got 3.5 days left of “normal” than kaplowwee, it’s me, home with the kids in the summer, for the first time in 14 years. Girls have softball, which will last about a month and a half. My boy…..he’s gonna be a toughy to break away from the tv. I’ve got 1 out of the 3 that likes to read, maybe I’ll ship the other two to your house….sounds like you got a handle on everything…… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. I love the Book Adventure link. It’s free and it is a good way for me to keep my twins on reading this summer. Alexis can devour a book while it’s the last thing twinkie Zach would like to be doing but it’s important! Great tip as usual!

    I’ll pray for you, if you pray for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    My daughter was home for less than 2 hours when she started whining all day long about how BORED she was. I was about to die. She was still whining at 10p.m. that first night… BOOO!

  7. I am going to look into that book adventure thing. I have a “mommy’s summer reading program” on the go. the kids earn a penny for each page they read, then 75c for each 10 unfamiliar words they look up and then write down with definitions and 50c for each oral book report they give me. (I ask pointed questions that go beyond the literal questions the AR program asks).

    For math, have you tried Rainforest math? Or http://www.bigmathtime.com? I have my kids do bigmathtime.com every day. it’s great for math drills.

    Shez over at Homeschooled Twins

Leave a Reply

