The “miracle question”: Part 2

So, you’ve thought about your answer to what could be your “miracle question”.  Some of you put in some interesting answers in the comments section.

Now, I’m going to share with you what happened during my “miracle question” session. I was talking to my therapist, and she had me visualize (close my eyes and think) about what I would be doing 5 years from now. I didn’t answer it in terms of what I was doing, but what my environment would be like. You see, I do have this theory about the connection between our brain and our environment. If our house, car, purse, is a total disaster area, then our brain is probably in the same state. When we’re depressed, our environment reflects that.

I answered that my house would be clean. I’d have things organized, put away, my computer desk would be clean (right now it looks like it’s a mountain of papers).

Then my therapist said, “Well, this is the miracle question because based on your answer, now you can make steps toward that goal. You said you want the house to be clean- you can now take small steps to get to that goal.” She stressed time and time again small steps. I tend to get overwhelmed very easily and can’t see the forest for the tress.

Now, for those of you who commented, I’d like for you to look at your answer again, and think about what you’d WANT to be doing 5 years from now. What success would you like to achieve? Then, from there, you can start making small steps toward that goal.

My goal for the next two weeks until my next therapy appointment is to get my computer desk area clean. I need to do this.

There was another thing that we talked about in therapy that I found very interesting. I mentioned that the only thing that is keeping me together is the medicine. My exact quote was “I feel better, but my life hasn’t changed any.” My therapist giggled a little, and said, “Let me repeat that back to you.”

She did, and asked me how I thought that sounded. I said that it didn’t make sense. Then she said something that make a million light bulbs go off in my head. She stated that now that I’m on this medicine that is helping me get my brain back on track, it’s up to me to pick up the rest of the pieces. I can’t expect the medicine to do the rest of it for me. I then realized why every time I get to a point in therapy when I feel like “I’m done- I don’t need this anymore” was because the medicine was helping me feel better, but I didn’t learn anything to help me fix my life.

Some interesting food for thought from this therapy session. I realized that I still need the therapy even though the medicine is helping me feel better. I still need help picking up the pieces.

8 responses

  1. 1st I’ll say, it sounds like you have a great therapist. I have one too, and they amaze me how they can throw the mirror at you and say; “Look, really look”.

    2nd, my small baby step, which I’ve done in the process of years, is to read on writing. Now I need to set up the time and place to take myself serious, which should be soon.

    I’m glad to hear about you small steps, made my day.
    Peace,

  2. I really relate to what you’ve written. I too get overwhelmed by the forest, and since being on screwed-up-dosing-days, I’ve done VERY little cleaning. Not to mention the weight gain I’ve experienced from sitting on the couch downing Swedish fish… They’re “tweaking” my medicines right now and I feel like my head is spinning and I’m spewing pea soup. Even my autistic son stopped me the one day and calmly said, “Mommy, when I’m having a hard time Miss Burks reads me a book about feelings.” I had to thank him for the perspective and gave him a big hug. Just that little comment helped me so much. Keep up with you baby steps! I’m going to try to do better too!

  3. Brilliant! Thank you for sharing. I feel very much the same as you, “I tend to get overwhelmed very easily and can’t see the forest for the tress.” Overwhelmed, what a horrid feeling. Just not even knowing where to start? You are right, never thought of it that way but your environment really does reflect your state of mind…… This is definitely food for thought, so glad you put it out there Michelle! I should go see a therapist again… it’s been so long, she could really help me dust off the cobwebs 😉

  4. Excellent post, Michelle!
    Therapists are life-savers! Both my psychiatrist and therapist are invaluable. I don’t think I’d be alive without them. I also relate to the overwhelmed, messy thing. When my symptoms are worse, my computer desk is piled high. My kitchen table is piled high. My sink is piled high. You get the idea. My therapist constantly reminds me about taking the small steps rather than trying to clean it all at once, which just leads to paralysis!
    And yes, meds are but one piece of the puzzle. So much of recovery is about learning to see and ACCEPT the world, our illness, our abilities and our limitations differently.
    Sounds like you have a great therapist. Keep up the good work. You’ve only just begun!
    etta

Leave a Reply

