Shocking news

A couple of days ago I posted about the wonders of the Internet, how you never really feel alone because you know that at least one person might be on the other side of the keyboard reading what you write. With this preface, I have a story of friendship and sadness.

Back in 2000, my DH (dear husband) and I were trying to conceive (TTC in the ‘net chat boards). Through an internet chat board, I had found other moms-in-waiting who were in the same boat as me. Through the year, we all bonded, started an email list for those us due in January, 2001, where we kept up with each other’s pregnancy progress, birth stats, and milestones for our children’s growing years. We cheered at first steps, first days at kindergarten, first words, and first haircuts.

It’s a parent’s nightmare to have a child die before you. We always expect that our children will outlive us, establish a legacy, and go forth to make the world a better place. I had that scare when my one son, Kerry, almost died from RSV (Respiratory Syncytal Virus) when he was 23 days old. The moms on my January 2001 list were there with listening ears, open hearts and arms.

Today I received a saddening note in my email box from one of my fellow January 2001 moms. Her son and her dad were killed in a car accident yesterday afternoon. Her son is the same age as my twin boys. Born the same month, just a couple of days apart. My heart is torn for my friend for not only losing her son, but also losing her dad.

If you pray, please pray for my friend and her family. It is so heartwrenching to lose a child, even more so to have it happen on Mother’s Day weekend.

7 responses

  1. that kind of stuff just seems so incredibly unfair! We know a girl with down syndrome who was diagnosed with leukemia. As if the child isn’t enduring enough. Grrr.

  2. Pingback: Please keep praying… « The Beartwinsmom’s Den

  3. What a heartbreaking event. Death is a tough one to swallow, even though it is universal. A man I respect greatly commented at such an occasion as this once that “the only way to take the sorrow out of death is to take the love out of life”. Love those little ones! I’ll add my prayers to yours.

  4. @ Dr. Paul- Interesting insight on death, life, and love. That is very true. Glad that you stopped by. 🙂

    @ JavaQueen- That was the first thought in my head- WHY?

    @ Marissa- Thank you, sweetheart. That means very much to me.

Leave a Reply

