Making ironic connections

It seems so ironic to me that when you are in a depressed state of mind, the one thing you want is to be isolated from everyone, when the irony is that when you have your friends with you, the depression doesn’t hurt as bad.

Now, I don’t have that many “in real life” friends. Suffice to say that I’m a bit of a loner when it comes to that. Plus, with me being a graduate student, mom, it’s hard to make those connections. I do have a few people I call “friend”, but they are busy with their own lives as well, and it’s hard to maintain those friendships.

Since I’ve “come out” about my depression and how I’ve been feeling, I’ve made some amazing new connections. I have “met” some incredible people, some of whom are listed in my “Blogs I Like to Read” sidebar. Through those virtual connections, I have found that I am not that alone as I thought I was. Sure, I still have my moments of feeling alone, isolated, and insecure. When I read my newfound friends’ blogs, I take solace in knowing that they are just on the other side of the keyboard.

And that helps me feel better.

7 responses

  1. if you think about it,, most people that spend the time required to blog,, and read reciprocally,, are spending an inordinate amount of time in front of the computer… out of that group, my guess is at least half of us is either depressed or socially impared in one way or another..

    kind of like fishing in a goldfish bowl, when you think about it, huh????

    and,, by the way i am glad to have met you…

  2. the tie that binds almost all of us who blog on our mental health or lack thereof is social isolation and the loneliness it brings. paisley is so right. in the ‘sphere i’m a social butterfly but in real world i’m an introvert/loner who has almost no desire for social contact even though as you correctly pointed out it makes me feel better. the problem, of course, is that while i might be witty and urbane tonight, it could be months before i can pull if off again. so i quit pounding my head into at least that one wall.

  3. friends sure do help with depression. blogging has helped me a lot with my depression just to know that i am not alone. i am very glad i have found your blog.

  4. @ Greybeard- I can be a social butterfly in the real world, but it depends on the environment. If I’m with a group of my teacher friends, then it’s no problem. If it’s with a group of people I don’t know very well, then consider me a wallflower. The blog has been a saving grace for me.

    @ Meander- I agree about friends. It’s just sad for me that more of my friends are cyber than in real life. I’m glad I found your blog, too!

  5. Yep, I hear you. It’s tough to maintain close friendships with people who are married and/or have children. That’s the one thing I miss about being single; I always had time for those things.

Leave a Reply

