Started counseling

Well, I know it’s been a while since I’ve popped in and written something here. I have been swamped with school, trying to keep my head above water with all the schoolwork I have.

I did start counseling therapy last week. My therapist seems pretty nice. I had three things I needed to do this week, and I’ve done a very poor job of getting them done. The first was to get back into journaling. I managed to get one journal entry done. (enter sarcasm) Whoopee! The second was to meet up with a friend for lunch, hopefully to try to get back into my scrapbooking. Second failure. I’m on a roll here. The third thing was to meditate on why March is such a horrible time of year for me with my depression. I’ve had some issues in the past from when I was growing up, and my therapist thinks it might be associated with those events. Possibly, those events happened during March of a certain year. Guess what? Three strikes and I’m out.

I am still having mini-crying spells during the day. I will all of a sudden feel this surge of sadness and feel tears welling up in my eyes. I don’t actually give into the sadness, but it does wear me down for the day.

I have an appointment to meet with a psychiatric nurse practitioner in May. I hope we can get my medicines worked out so I don’t feel like this is the only thing that is holding me together.

Later on, I want to write a post about parenting, education, and depression. It’s something that has been floating around as an unwritten post in my head, and I just want to get the words down.

6 responses

  1. God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble, Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea..
    – Psalms 46:1-2

  2. At least with crying spells you are getting all the gunk out. We all got to do what we can to get through it. I’m praying for ya

    (BTW…that pic of jonathan is HOT!! ๐Ÿ˜† )

  3. I agree FXSMom… I’d love to meet Jonathan in person (wink).

    The problem with the crying spells, though, is that I don’t feel better afterward. I feel worse. Right now I’m on the verge of another one. I’m supposed to feel better with all these meds I’m on, right?

  4. Hey Sweetie. I am thinking of you. I’ve been there. Take it easy on yourself.

    You journaled one time this week? That is AWESOME!!!!!!!
    No scrapbooking this week? Hey, maybe it is time to not scrapbook.
    You didn’t journey back into your childhood to discover why March sucks for you? Um… yeah. That should be so low on the totem pole right now. Get to a better place mentally, then go take a trip into the past. Right now, your perspective is all messed up. You probably wouldn’t see anything worthwhile if you took that journey now.

    Baby steps, love. Baby steps. Call me if you want to chat!! Maybe I could be your lunch date ๐Ÿ™‚

    {{{Hugs to you & to the twinados}}}

    Love,
    Kirsten

  5. {{hugs}}…. I’m sorry you are feeling blue – from reading your about me page you certainly are a busy woman and to top it off twins….. life can feel so overwhelming sometimes but just please know you are not alone. I’d surrender to the big cry – gosh, that feels so good when you are all done, or at least it has for me in the past. You really sound like you are on the right track and I wish you well on the journey to recovery ๐Ÿ˜‰ Take care!

Leave a Reply

