Books I want in my professional library

This is not an all-inclusive list. This is just the tip-of-the-iceberg list that I’ve made after being in graduate school for the past two years. All images courtesy of www.amazon.com

1. 11e9q7n5wql.jpg Nonverbal Learning Disabilities at Home: A Parent’s Guide by Pamela K. Tanguay. This book has tons of practical information and suggestions for parents who have a child with Nonverbal Learning Disabilities.

2. 01d1k329mzl.jpg Nonverbal Learning Disabilities at School: Educating Students With NLD, Asperger Syndrome and Related Conditions by Pamela K. Tanguay. I used this book as one of my sources for a research paper on NLD, and I fell in love with its practical tips and usefulness for not just students with NLD, but with ALL students.

3. 51hhuzcfgil_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg A Framework for Understanding Poverty by Ruby K. Payne, Ph.D. As I mentioned in a previous blog post, I’ve heard her speak and want to know more.

4. 5138syfz2bl_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg How the Brain Learns to Read by David A. Sousa. I am totally fascinated by anything related to brain-based research on learning. I have read previous chapters from another Sousa book, and I like how he can explain things very simply.

5. 51ymfc2wa1l_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg How the Special Needs Brain Learns by David A. Sousa. This is the book that I’ve read chapters from and I want my own copy for my library!

6. 515j87j5k2l_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg Overcoming Dyslexia by Sally Shaywitz, M.D. I heard SO many teachers at the Michigan Reading Association conference sing the praises of this book. I think I’ll check it out from the library, first, before I add it to my library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

