Things that have been keeping me away from blogging

Sorry NaBloPoMo, I’ve been a horrible blogger this month. I know I started in late with signing up on March 6, pledging that I’d write a post a day. I was all fired-up, thinking that I’d really get back into writing.

But then, as it always does, life happens.

These are the things that have kept me away from blogging this month.

1. My depression. Yes, some of you are probably saying, “Okay, we get it. You think you life sucks and you can’t take anymore.” Honestly, it’s hard to come up with a pithy, cheery post when all you think about is crawling back into bed for the next 48 hours. Sorry… that’s how my life has been this month. March has done this to me for the past 5 years.  I don’t feel it’s honest to write something that I’m not feeling, that’s not real. I know that my stats are going down in my blog. I don’t know if it’s because of that, but if it is, then so be it.

2. My grad school work. I’m taking two classes, plus I have four incompletes I need to finish up before the end of this semester. My head is going to explode just from this.

3. My kids. Don’t get me wrong- I love my twin boys.  It’s just that I put in 1,000% of myself into them, and I don’t have anything left for me. I know that sounds selfish, but right now, with what little sanity I have, I’d love to have a little me time.

4. Going to conferences. I went to the Michigan Reading Association conference last weekend. Some of the speakers were fantastic; others weren’t so great. I was thrilled to meet Rafe Esquith (the link is for his class), shake his hand, and talk with him for a few minutes. I also got to hear Ruby Payne (if you’re a teacher and don’t know about A Framework for Understanding Poverty, then you are out of the loop. Go get that book.) I met Ruby years ago when I was a teacher in Houston, before she was “famous”.  It was nice to see her again.

5. Going to meetings. I’m the PTO secretary, the special education Parent Advisory Committee representative for my sons’ school district, and recently, the school administration asked me to be the parent representative for the school board education committee.  The curriculum director told me after our first meeting that she was very happy that I was on the committee. When I asked her why, she said, “You’re a parent, and you’re also a parent of a child with special needs.” Then I smiled and said, “I also have an education background.” She said, “And that’s a plus, too!”

4 responses

  1. ‘My depression. Yes, some of you are probably saying, “Okay, we get it.”‘

    Some of the less-lucky ones actually do get it. It’s a rare person that can empathize with someone dealing with a challenge they themselves have no experience with.

  2. Friend, if people are bored with your life/blog because they can’t empathize, they can bite ME also.

    I have walked near you, if not in your shoes, and you deserve a medal, not apathy.

    Please take care of yourself, mama!

    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

