Eeek! Running on empty!

Empty

How many of you have tried to drive as long as you can with your car’s gas gauge hovering close to “E”, thinking that you can get just one more mile, one more block closer to your destination without making that stop at the gas station to fill up? Then, when you do get to the gas station, the fill up is always more costly because your gas tank is bone dry, you might have caused engine damage, and the stress of knowing if you have enough to get you to your destination is just enough to put you over the edge.

Ironically, that’s what I’ve been doing to myself. I have been running my own engine dry to the point where I am close to breaking down. Even things that I enjoy to do are laborious to me, and I’ve been having a hard time to get myself to do them (i.e. writing this blog, doing crafts). Something is really wrong when the things that are supposed to bring you happiness make you run in the other direction.

I am on empty and I don’t know how I can get my engine going again because I’m totally depleted. Too much of me is going out and I don’t have anything left.

What can I do?

Photo graciously provided by dmoola through a Creative Commons license, some rights reserved.

4 responses

  1. ((((((((((((((Michelle)))))))))))))))

    You already know what I’m going to say sweetie. Something has to give, and it can’t be you.

    I’m learning in my own life that just because a commitment is relatively small, it’s still not good to have too many. Hubby told me flat out the other day (and you know he’s not into major pronouncements, so I have to take him seriously) that he wants me to quit some stuff. Oy, it’s hard! I’m stepping down from moderating some groups, have been relieved of a duty at church, and a short-term project that I’ve been working on for church ends next week. Of course, 2 new things have come up, so I still need to find something to cut. Gotta block my time with fewer things in larger chunks.

    Love and hugs! I’m praying for you.

  2. Hey Amy- I did quit that job that kept sucking more hours out of me than I had thought it was going to originally. I’m still going to school. I am taking two classes plus I have those 4 incompletes I’m making up.

    I seriously feel completely empty, and it scares me.

  3. I am so sorry you are feeling this way, but on a lighter note you wrote this beautifully. I can totally feel what you mean.

    I’m going to tell you a true story that you reminded me of that I think could possibly help you.

    Several years ago, before cell phones, I was following someone in a car. I realized I was almost completely out of gas. My gas light was on. We were in a huge hurry and I didn’t know where we were going or how far it was. I had no way of communicating with her. I prayed and I prayed and I prayed some more…we drove at least 45 minutes. Then for the 2nd time in my life I heard a voice. It was God. I have no doubt in my mind that it was God. He said, “Don’t you trust me?” I was stunned! I said…”ummmm of course…of course I do!” I was still a little hesitant, but I believe God carried me those last 10 miles until I got to a gas station.

    You are driving on empty right now…there are obviously times that we will all go through this. But it is important to continue to have a conversation with God, because he will carry you through!

    Chelle, I do hope so because I am scared of feeling this empty. Thanks for the prayers. Hugs for you!

  4. ya know…your body is still in a healing process from your hysterectomy too. Running on empty isn’t helping any at all. Not that you don’t know this already.

    I try to live by the theory that my husband & childrens needs are #1. I’m also a list person. So when I get overwhelmed by having too much I will make a list of everything that I’m doing. Then I prioritize it. Whatever is on the bottom of the list I cut it. I know I will have to disappoint someone but I’d rather disappoint someone outside my home than someone inside it. And as much as I hate it I do feel pretty good telling someone that I can’t do something because it’s taking time away from my family.

    Another theory I live by is that I have to take care of me 1st if I’m going to be a good mother and wife. What are you doing to take care of you?

    I’m not doing anything for myself, except for trying to keep up with my schoolwork. Does that count?

Leave a Reply

