Happy Birthday–Cubed

birthday blog pic  Happy Birthday to my dear, wonderful sons! You have blessed me by making me your mother. I can’t believe that another year has gone by so quickly, eaten up just as fast as that birthday cake in the picture.

We have been through so much in these 7 years of your life. We’ve been through near-death experiences, extreme illnesses, surgeries, diagnoses galore of one kind or another… each event a huge “teachable moment” for not just you, but for me, too.

You see, before I became a mom, I thought I knew a lot about kids. Heck, I went to school to become a teacher. I had to take classes in child development, child psychology; I had to understand how the brain and body developed. Nothing I learned in my college classes prepared me for becoming a mom, much less a mother of twins. Sure, I can explain how your brain develops and what developmental milestone you should be at. But, when you weren’t at that stage when were you supposed to be, I felt like I failed as a mother because doggone it, I’m a college-educated person, I shouldn’t have developmentally delayed children.

But, it was in those delays that you taught me so much more than any college class could ever teach. I learned how to fight in ways that I never knew I had in me. I devoured websites for information, I met other parents through online support groups, and in a way, I was born a new person, too.

So, while we celebrate your birth tomorrow boys, I will be celebrating my birth of becoming a mother. I can’t imagine life without either one of you, and I will love you both forever.

 Love, Momma

Photo courtsey of anaulin, via Creative Commons license, some rights reserved

3 responses

Leave a Reply

