Kids and surgery

Well, the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry… As much as my DH and I tried to keep it away from our twin sons that I was going in for surgery this far away from the date, Casey (aka Radar Ears) figured it out. While DH and I were playing with Casey, Casey mentioned “So, Momma, when are you going in for your surgery?” My jaw dropped to the floor.

I said, “Casey, how did you find out that I’m going in for surgery?”

Casey said, “I heard you and Poppa talking about it”

Then I told Casey that I was going to be OK, that the doctor was going to take the owie out of my tummy and that I was going to feel better. That was on Saturday. At this point, his twin brother, Kerry, doesn’t know yet.

Fast-forward to Sunday.

During dinner, Casey asks, “Momma, what’s 24+24+24+24?”

DH says “Well, that’s the same as 24×4, so that’s 96. Why, Casey?”

Casey then says, “Momma’s going to be in the hospital for 96 hours”

You could have heard a pin drop at that point. Kerry looks at me and says “You’re going to the hospital, Momma? Why?”

Then I went into the same thing that I told Casey- that the doctor is going to take the owie out of my tummy, etc. And I reminded him of his surgeries and how he felt afterward (Kerry has had 3 surgeries on his leg when he was a baby, and he had his tonsils/adenoids out last year).

So, now instead of having minimal build-up time for anxiety, I am now going to be facing two weeks of the boys’ possibly building up anxiety about me going in to the hospital. Any suggestions on how to handle this?

4 responses

  1. I think you are handling it well, great explanation for them. Maybe you could work on some things that could help you ease your fears and theirs as well. What I’m thinking of is that they could help you decorate a frame to pictures of them to put in your hospital room. Something to keep you busy and the boys feeling like they are helping mommy out.

  2. I’ll leave the suggestions here to parents, but I wanted to drop a quick note to let you know that I hope things go smoothly for you over the next few weeks.

    I won’t throw out the “hang in there” and “stay strong” type comments because, as these recent posts have shown, you’re already doing a great job with both. It’s inspiring stuff.

  3. FXSmom- great idea on the picture frame. I really like that!

    PandaBean- Thank you for the prayers! I’ll take as many as I can get. 🙂

    Matthew- Thank you for the comforting comments. I need those, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

