Where has The Beartwinsmom been?

(This is from an email I wrote last week Friday. Tomorrow I have my appointment with the OB/GYN to find out what exactly is going on. I have a 10cm fibroid in my uterus, and it’s not looking too good.)

Yesterday morning when I was getting ready for the day, I starting having a sharp, stabbing pain in my right side. It felt like someone was shoving a sword in my side. As the morning progressed, the pain got worse, and it got to the point where I was doubled over in pain in the boys’ school’s nurse’s office. The school nurse took my temperature and I didn’t have a fever. She thought I was having ovarian pain from the location that the pain was at, so I went to my OB/GYN office. The nurse took one look at me, listened to my pain description and said, “No, it’s not gynecological, you need to get to ER”. At this point, I was getting dizzy from the pain, and I had a hard time walking.

I went through triage in ER, got put in a room, and had the standard lab tests done- blood, urine, and X-Ray. Everything looked OK, but they were still concerned about my pain.The PA-C was speculating either kidney stones, appendix, or gall bladder problems. They gave me something to stop the spasms (thank goodness). The PA-C ordered me to a clear-liquids only diet for the rest of the day until the next day, when I had to return to ER for more testing.  I was in the ER from 10 to about 1:30.

Today, after I dropped the boys off at school, I went back to the hospital’s ER, and had the blood and urine testing done. I didn’t have any pain at all, just a little tenderness from where the pain had occurred.  Everything looked fine with the blood and urine tests. I had a surprise test thrown at me- a C/T scan. I had to drink this awful  contrast liquid. Note that I have had NOTHING but water or apple juice for the past 24 hours, so I had a very hard time stomaching this vile stuff down. The nurse came in to put in the IV for my C/T scan, and I almost passed out. She said I went ‘white as a ghost’ and my eyes were very dilated. I could only get down one cup of the contrast liquid, much to the C/T scan tech’s disappointment, but I said, “Hey, it’s on an empty stomach, this should go fast”.

I had the scan done, got loaded up with the IV contrast, and had the other scan done. It took forever to get the results. What I heard was not promising. The PA-C said that my fibroid was looking worse. It looks like it’s starting to deteriorate and die off. This is not good because I can get very sick from this. When I mentioned that I was trying to get to the U of M clinic for alternative to hysterectomy, the PA-C said “you might be too far gone for that”. My heart sunk.

I met one of the new OB/GYNs on staff in our clinic, and he said that I have to meet with my regular OB next week to discuss what I want to do. So, I have an appointment for Weds. morning. It’s not looking too good for me. When he pushed down on where the pain was, I about leapt off the bed.

Today I was in the ER from 8:15 until 2:50. I have never been in the ER for that long. It was not fun. 😦

I just wanted to update y’all on what happened to me the past two days. Yesterday after I got home with the boys, I collapsed from exhaustion. Casey was incredibly distressed. Jeff was upset that I had told the boys that I was in the ER. Well, what am I supposed to do- lie to my own kids? I told them that I had some tests done, and I had to go back for more tomorrow. I guess what really threw Casey for a loop was me sleeping for so long.

Sigh… I hope I don’t get that pain again anytime soon.

4 responses

  1. I ws there at the beginning of the year. That pain is sooo not fun. We never did find out what was causing mine. I had an exploratory scope, D&C & endometrial ablation done in March. If that doesn’t work they are yelling hysterectomy. Yuck! So I hurt on occasion but I take a pill and pretend it never happened…for now.

    I hope they can take care of yours soon. I’m praying for ya.

  2. PandaBean- Thank you for the prayers!

    FXSmom- The pain is not fun at all. 😦 I really don’t want to go through all of this, but the pain and pressure I feel most days is just not worth it. Thanks for the prayers- I will need them!

Leave a Reply

